Skip to content

Bike to Work Day

May 16, 2009

Yesterday was Bike to Work Day in Knoxville, as it was in other cities, too. I decided to not wait until Friday to bike to work. I went ahead and rode in on Thursday, too. It was a great experience. I wish I had done it sooner. My commute is a bit too far for me to ride the entire way, so I ride to the bus station in downtown Knoxville, then hop on a bus and ride it out as far as I can go, then hop back on my bike and ride to work. It’s about 4 miles to the bus station, then another 4 miles once I get off the bus, for a total of 8 miles on the bike each way. Luckily, the buses have bike racks on the front, so that’s nice. Unfortunately, I got jipped out of some money each time I put my fare in the coin acceptor, so I had to put more in. I decided to buy the 20-ride pass, so I can’t get jipped again, and it saves me $0.25 each ride. The bus is very comfortable and almost empty. I think on Thursday there was one other person each way, and Friday there were three. I plan to move a little closer to work, so I don’t have to ride so far, hopefully like only 4-6 miles.

One Comment
  1. April 16, 2010 12:56 am

    It’s getting to be that time of year again…..biking to work! Weather here in Denver has been beautiful, and I’ve definitely seen an uptick in the number of people joining me in the morning bike commute. Also seems like more than last year at this time, but that may just be me and my wishful thinking…..

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

