Skip to content

It’s Been Too Long

July 10, 2009
0625091720

Waiting at the bus stop

Wow! It’s been almost two months since I posted here. I guess I’ve been busy. The last post I made talked about Bike to Work Day, which was May 15. Since that day, I’ve biked to work probably an average of 2 days/week, which I’m going to work on improving. It’s been great. I honestly didn’t know what I was missing. You get a COMPLETELY difference experience riding your bike to work than you do in a car, and I don’t even mean the obvious differences, like the fact that you’re pedalling to work instead of driving. What I mean is that you see things you never saw before, you smell things you never smelled before, and you hear things you never heard before. Speaking of the smells of bicycle commuting, I’m not sure if there’s a bakery or something on my way to work, but I always smell something that smells like toasted bread around about the Volvo dealership on N. Peters Road. I find that I look forward to that smell, especially as an alternative to automobile exhaust. Well, put me down as a bicycle commuting convert. I’m sold!

4 Comments
  1. December 3, 2009 2:28 am

    Wow, I am pleased to see that someone is actually blogging on Place Making. It needs to become mainstream. I came across your blog by chance when I tried to register Place Making as a blog. I really am glad to see you blogging on this topic. Good on you. I will be a regular at you blog.

    Cheers – Zainil

  2. August 3, 2010 5:34 pm

    I ride my bike to work every day. And to be honest not only because it’s healthier and more relaxing than driving a car. On my bike I avoid all the traffic jams and it’s a pain to find a place to park the car where I work. Downside is that also goes for the bad weather days. But I agree with you, you see and smell more while bicycle commuting. One more thing, it also clears your head after a hard day at the office.

  3. mike poller permalink
    August 24, 2011 8:03 am

    Chris, I notice this blog has been dormant since 2009… can I have it? mike@advertisingmiami.com

  4. Chris Eaker permalink*
    August 24, 2011 8:34 am

    What are your plans for it, Mike?

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

