Skip to content

Top Graduate Planning Programs

December 10, 2008

planetizen-2009One of my favorite planning related websites is Planetizen.com (which, according to the website, it is pronounced “pla-NET-izen”). It’s full of great articles, news, opinion pieces, and blog entries about planning. Each year, the website publishes its Guide to Graduate Urban Planning Programs. I purchased the 2009 edition, since I am planning to go back to school within the next two years to obtain a master’s degree in planning. The guide ranks the planning programs across many categories, such as geographic region, specialty, tuition, etc. Below are some of the top planning programs in some of the categories:

Top Overall Programs

  1. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  2. University of California, Berkeley
  3. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  4. Rutgers, State University of New Jersey
  5. University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Top Programs According to Educators

  1. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  2. University of California, Berkeley
  3. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  4. University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  5. Cornell University

Top Planning Programs According to Practitioners

  1. Massachusetts Institute of Technology (I’m beginning to see a pattern here.)
  2. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  3. Harvard University
  4. University of California, Berkeley
  5. University of Pennsylvania

Top Planning Programs in the Northeast

  1. Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Yep, I thought so.)
  2. Rutgers, State University of New Jersey
  3. Cornell University
  4. Harvard University
  5. University of Pennsylvania

Top Planning Programs in the South

  1. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  2. Georgia Institute of Technology
  3. Virginia Tech
  4. University of Florida
  5. Florida State University

It’s pretty clear that M.I.T rocks. It’s always in the top position on all the lists. If I got accepted to M.I.T., I would have to seriously consider it, since it would be such a great experience. My alma mater is Georgia Tech, which is by no means a bad school. I will definitely apply to both, but I have a feeling I will end up at Georgia Tech, which would definitely not disappoint me. It’s a great school with an excellent reputation.

Comments are closed.

